St Patrick’s Day Stretch

So, not exactly traditional St. Patrick’s Day fare, but “Irish Soup” and Shamrock Shakes come pretty close.

We fixed Reubens last week, so corned beef and sauerkraut were not options this week.

Simply Recipes shared this Potato Cheddar Guinness Soup recipe just in time.

I was able to find a single (large) bottle of the Stout since we go through beer pretty slowly.  Guinness Extra StoutI used the money saved compared to a 6-pack on more ice cream for shakes!

The Recipe link above includes lots of pictures, but I enjoyed the textures as I cooked, so here are few from our kitchen:

sauteed onion and celery

Ah! How beautiful! Few things compete with the sight and smell of onions and celery browning in butter!

Simmering Soup
Assembled and ready to simmer. I used dried thyme leaves rather than ground thyme; so much better!

I got to use my new immersion blender for the very first time.  I love it!  It worked so well, much easier than using a blender or food processor, and it’s even fun.  I added the cheese gradually while blending.Immersion Blender

The smell of Stout cooking was almost overpowering.  I may have become slightly intoxicated from breathing in the fumes while I exercised in the other room.  Or maybe not.  The smell worried me a bit, but the results were good.

Leftover Beefsteak Rye from last week’s Reubens, and dinner was served.

St Patrick's DinnerSean LOVED this soup.  I consider that a miracle.  Mark liked it, too.  I liked it, but thought it was a little bitter.  Next time, I would try adding the optional 1/2 tsp of sugar to the pot to help cut the bitterness.  We’ll keep this soup in our Family Favorites Recipe book.

Dessert, a little later, was our attempt at homemade Shamrock Shakes.  We’ll stick with regular shakes next time, and just add food coloring for St. Patrick’s Day.  Mark is our Shake Maker.  He has this great mixer.Milkshake MIxer

He added some mint extract to the ice cream and milk, but the vanilla flavor didn’t blend well with the mint (as Mark explained).  We used some chocolate syrup and cocoa powder – just a little- to balance out the flavors.

"Shamrock" Shake- with a little chocolate

“Shamrock” Shake- with a little chocolate

It was fun and different.  We won’t be making them again, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

