Granny’s Country Sausage Au Gratin

Tonight’s dinner was an attempt to recreate Granny’s Country Sausage Au Gratin without using boxed Betty Crocker au gratin potatoes.  I haven’t made it in several years, since I knew the boxed potatoes would not go over well; that, and we don’t grow boxed potatoes- ha ha ha!  We have lots of potatoes, and I used to like this meal, so I decided to try to come up with a version using potatoes from our Garden.

I sauteed some onion in olive oil (per Granny’s recipe), then added flour, salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  Cooked that up a bit, then added milk.  Once the milk was warmed, I layered the sliced potatoes in the bottom (covered by the sauce) with the smoked sausage on top.  I covered and simmered the potatoes until they were tender.  Then, I returned to the original recipe, adding the carrots til tender, then some broccoli (from our Garden) and shredded cheddar.  The result?

country sausage au gratin (with carrots and broccoli)

country sausage au gratin (with carrots and broccoli)

Mark said “these are the best Betty Crocker potatoes I have ever eaten.”

Sean liked these.

Brenda liked these.

Everyone liked it!

Next time, I would add more potatoes (3 of the potatoes I brought up were going bad, and I didn’t go back to the basement to replace them).  Then, cook the potatoes not quite as long before adding the carrots.  Finally, completely thaw and drain the broccoli before adding it to the pan.  (It took too long to thaw and cook, and added unneeded water.)

We thawed the roll dough from Sunday and made another dozen delicious rolls.  Not one is left!

This was a successful attempt 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

